Dance 246: Dance in the United States

Remember to critically evaluate Internet resources before using them in your research. See the Is my source credible? tab on the left for tips on evaluating your sources.

American Dance Machine for the 21st Century (ADM21)

ADM21 reconstructs musical theatre dance choreography to create a "living archive" of the genre.

Dance History Video Archive 

A video archive from the University of Southern California.

Dunham's Data

A digital humanities project about Katherine Dunham's life and work.

Internet Broadway Database

IBDB lists actors, directors, playwrights, producers, theaters, and more for Broadway shows.

Jacob's Pillow Online Archives

Archives of the American dance festival at Jacob's Pillow. NOTE: most of the audio/video footage is only viewable onsite at the NYPL. Still images are generally viewable online.

Jerome Robbins Dance Division at the New York Public Library

Includes digital collections and interviews on a variety of American dance topics. NYPL's complete digital library is searchable here. NOTE: most of the audio/video footage is only viewable onsite at the NYPL. Still images are generally viewable online.

Merce Cunningham Trust

Information on all things Merce Cunningham. Click the "History" menu to find performance videos and interviews with dancers and choreographers.

On Tour With Limón

A digital humanities project about dancer Lucy Venable's international tours with the Limón Dance Company.

Sapphire Swan Dance Directory

A guide to dance websites and company websites for a wide variety of dance styles.

Tap Dance in America

A database of tap dance resources from the Library of Congress. The database base will help you find tap dance sources, but it will not necessarily have direct links to those sources. Contact Karen if you need help accessing an item you find here.

Variety Stage Sound Recordings and Motion Pictures

A Library of Congress collection that digitizes vaudeville-style acts from 1897-1920.