- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance 100: Introduction to Dance
- Dance Research Databases
Dance 100: Introduction to Dance
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Dance & Performing Arts Databases
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowA prime research tool for students of theatre and the performing arts; excellent for scholarly sources.
- Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index This link opens in a new windowDELRdi is focused on dance pedagogy. It does not contain full text for articles. Copy the article title and paste it into a Catalyst search to access it.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. If you are looking for performance reviews or magazine interviews with dancers, this database is better than International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Other Databases
If you are doing interdisciplinary research, it may be useful to visit the databases for the subject are of your "AND _____."
For example, if you are research dance AND physical therapy, you might want to use the kinesiology databases to find material about physical therapy.
To find which databases are recommended for each subject area, visit the A-Z database page.
Then, set the "subject" dropdown menu to the broad research area that interests you. For example, if you're researching Japanese dance, you might try the Asian studies databases.
This will pull up a list of "best bets" for researching in that area.
