- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 346: Music, Gender, and Sexuality
- LGBTQIA+ Archives Online
Music 346: Music, Gender, and Sexuality
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Archives on the Internet
Be savvy consumers when you search for things online. Use the Evaluating Source Credibility tab on the left for tips on determining if an online source is reliable.
Some reputable sites are listed below. Descriptions taken from their "about" pages.
- Arizona Queer ArchivesThe Arizona Queer Archives is the state of Arizona’s Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex (LGBTQI) collecting archives of the Institute for LGBT Studies at the University of Arizona.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 15,798,968 items from libraries, archives, and museums across the country. This is a general database, so you may need to add gender-studies-specific keywords to your searches.
- Digital Transgender ArchiveThe purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
- Lesbian Herstory ArchivesThe Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Doing this also serves to uncover and document our herstory previously denied to us by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served
- Library of Congress LGBT Pride Month CollectionIncludes research guides, blog posts, and descriptions of relevant archives at the Library of Congress.
- Women's Liberation Movement Print Collection (Duke University)This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.