Music Subject Guide

Music score cataloging is very complicated, but here are some general guidelines. We also have signs posted on the ends of the stacks indicating what kinds of scores are located there.

Music scores (also music recordings) have call numbers beginning with the letter M. The scores collection begins on the east side of the library and works its way west.

• M2-M3: Scholarly editions (These scores contain extra historical commentary that can be useful for research projects. Examples of scholarly editions includes series like the complete works of Mozart or Research Research in Music of the Baroque Era.)

Within the solo and chamber repertoire listed below, the general progression is first keyboard works, then bowed strings, then winds, then plucked strings, then percussion, then mixed ensembles.

• M4-199: Repertoire for 1 instrument (includes piano 4-hands)
• M200-299: Repertoire for 2 instruments (includes solos with piano accompaniment)
• M300-399: Repertoire for 3 instruments
• M400-499: Repertoire for 4 instruments
• M500-599: Repertoire for 5 instruments
• M600-699: Repertoire for 6 instruments
• M700-799: Repertoire for 7 instruments
• M800-899: Repertoire for 8 instruments
• M900-99: Repertoire for 9 instruments
• M1000+: Orchestral music; includes concertos and concertos with piano reductions for the accompaniment
• M1200+: Band music; includes concertos and concertos with piano reductions for the accompaniment
• M1366: Jazz instrumental ensembles 
• M1497+: Secular vocal music (operas, musicals, art songs, folk songs)
  • M1500: Opera/musical full scores
  • M1508: Opera/musical vocal scores (i.e., with piano reductions of the accompaniment)
• M1999+: Sacred vocal music (sacred cantatas, masses, and other sacred repertoire for all religions)

Books about music have call numbers beginning with the letters ML or MT and are located on the west side of the music library. Please note that many of our newer books are eBooks, so it is aways good to search in Catalyst in addition to browsing our physical collections.

Useful call number ranges include:

• Biographies of composers: ML410 (alphabetical by last name)
• Biographies of performers and bands: ML416+ (instrumentalists, then singers, then bands, alphabetical by last name)
• Symphonies: ML1255
• Operas: ML1800, ML3858
• Musicals: ML2054
• Jazz: ML2595.8+, ML3518
• Rap/HipHop: ML3531 
• Rock: ML3533.8+
• Ethnomusicology: ML3997.6+
• Sociopolitical music history/criticism: ML3918 ; these are generally alphabetized by genre, so ML3918 O = opera, ML3918 R = Rap, etc. Please note that music cataloging uses rap to refer to the musical aspects of hiphop culture.)

Due to space limitations, our collection of audiovisual materials is not available for you to browse. We store them in a back room.

You will need to look for recordings online and then give the call number to the worker at the circulation desk.  Our circ desk staff will happily pull your requested CDs, DVDs, and LPs!