Music Subject Guide

Streaming audio of diverse US music, past and present, plus liner notes. Includes a significant collection of African American music.

Streaming audio of classical music written from the earliest times through the contemporary period.

Streaming audio of contemporary world music, plus liner notes.

Streaming audio (plus liner notes and cover art) from independent record labels and sound archives. Emphasis on American music in many genres.

Streaming audio of jazz recordings throughout the twentieth century, plus liner notes.

A cross search of all the streaming audio provided by Alexander Street Press. Includes American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound, among others.

A collection of streaming jazz recordings. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz along with Prophone and Proprius.

Streaming audio of classical music, plus some world music and jazz. Includes brief discussions of the works and biographical information on composers and artists.

Popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Streaming audio of music, spoken word (including speeches and readings of literary texts), and sounds. Coverage crosses geographic areas and historical periods.

Streaming video of more than 450 Met Opera performances.

Streaming video of opera performances, interviews, and documentaries. Covers operas composed from the Baroque to the contemporary periods; includes materials recorded approximately 1933-present.

Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world