Management Studies Subject Guide
Research & Writing Tutors
Research Librarian
Resources on the Web
General Business
Minnesota Small Business Assistance Office
This site is managed by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. Click on the "Facts and Figures" link to find specific information about the business climate in Minnesota.
Business.gov
A collaborative effort managed by the U.S. Small Business Administration, this site focuses on how to launch, manage, and grow a business. Click on the "Small Business Guides" tab - on the next page use the "Advertising and Marketing" link on the left side of the page.
Annual Reports
This commercial site provides free access to annual reports of publicly held companies. Searchable by name, industry, sector, or exchange.
Marketing and Advertising
Ad Council
"The Ad Council is a private, non-profit organization that marshals volunteer talent from the advertising and communications industries, the facilities of the media, and the resources of the business and non-profit communities to deliver critical messages to the American public." [from the web site]
American Marketing Association
A good source for marketing data, articles, case studies, best practices, and links to other information in the marketing world.
Brand Channel
An interesting site dedicated to enhancing brand awareness through online communication. Each week features a new topic from the advertising world to stimulate commentary and conversation. Includes a browseable archive.
Market Segmentation: A guide to Sources of Information
One of many business oriented research guides compiled by the Library of Congress. Includes references to books, articles, websites, and subject headings.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Explores the impact of the internet on children, families, communities, the work place, schools, health care and civic/political life.
Ethics
BELL: The Business Ethics Links Library
From the University of Colorado at Boulder, this database 'provides access to codes of ethics for U.S. companies and trade and professional associations, ethics sites at college and university business programs, industry information resources, and company promotion of social responsibility covering such topics as arts assistance, environmental clean up, charitable giving and community programming.' (From the website)
Business and Human Rights Resource Center
An international, non-profit research organization that tracks the positive and negative effects of over 4000 companies' policies and actions in over 180 countries.
Codes of Ethics Online
From the Illinois Institute of Technology, this site offers digital access to over 850 individual codes of ethics from Coca-Cola to the Society of Swiss Veterinarians. Includes a searchable index and a wealth of supplementary material on finding, using, and writing ethics codes.
Social Explorer
Explore U.S. Demographics
Social Explorer
Explore 220 years of demographic data with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Includes all decennial censuses, American Community Surveys, and two religion surveys.
Click on the "Take the Tour" box and learn how to use this database. You will be able to map demographic data such as population, income, house values, education, race, age, etc. for any location in the United States. You will be able to create maps and save them to include in your research down to a particular neighborhood or area of a city.
Statistics on the Web
Local Statistics
Datanet
"Datanet is an online system consisting of summarized statistical information" containing "statistics about social, economic, and demographic conditions in Minnesota."
Minnesota State Demographic Center
An excellent source for county level data- housing, population, income, immigration, and more.
National Statistics
American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is a nationwide survey designed to provide communities a fresh look at how they are changing. It is a critical element in the Census Bureau's re-engineered decennial census program. The ACS collects and produces population and housing information every year instead of every ten years.
American Fact Finder – Browse, search, and map data from Census Bureau sources, including the 2000 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
A good place to go for up-to-date information about consumer spending, productivity, business costs, employment costs, employment/unemployment and other demographics.
FedStats
THE online link to federal statistics. Use to supplement MNPRO. Most sources are accessible at the state level.
Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
- Look here for Minnesota State information.
U.S. Census
Home page of the U.S. Census.
USA.gov: Statistics at the State and Local Level
Basically a large collection of links harvesting data from the American Community Survey, the U.S. Census, and other sources to focus information gathering under subject categories.
Zip Code Business Patterns http://censtats.census.gov/cbpnaic/cbpnaic.shtml
Provides industry type, employment, and payroll information searchable by U.S. zip code.