- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 211: Science in World and Word
- Find Scholarly Articles
Writing 211: Science in World and Word
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Databases with Popular AND Scholarly Sources
These databases are designed to help you find both popular sources of information, including magazine and newspaper articles, AND scholarly sources of information, including peer-reviewed articles, books, and dissertations.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
- Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional journal articles, popular and trade magazine articles, and other materials on biomechanics, coaching, dance, facilities, health, kinesiology, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, and sports medicine and psychology. Covers materials published 1970-present.
Databases with Scholarly Sources ONLY
These databases are designed to help you find scholarly sources of information, including peer-reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Although they don't include traditional "popular" sources such as magazine and newspaper articles, keep in mind that you should still evaluate the quality and credibility of sources you find in these databases.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly and professional journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and other materials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1937-present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.
Browse Scholarly Journals
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is the preferred service that researchers around the world use to browse, read and follow the scholarly journals available from their library.