- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance 124: World Dance Traditions
- Audiovisual Materials
Dance 124: World Dance Traditions
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Streaming Video Databases
As with audio streaming, it is usually easier to search for videos directly in the video databases, rather than in Catalyst.
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of dance performances and documentaries. Includes materials recorded 1955-present.
- Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive streaming video collection including independent films, documentaries, educational films, newsreels, theater and musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA wide range of videos on topics, including music and the arts.
Documentary footage of dance and music from around the world. Be sure to download the booklets for liner notes for the performances. Click the "details" tab and then "Download ZIP file" under "Supplemental Materials."
Also available on DVD at the Music Library, M1627 .J3 2005 -- ask at the Music Library Circulation Desk.
Documentary footage of dance and music from around the world. DVD only; not available online. Be sure to ask the circulation assistant for the accompanying booklet.
Don't have access to a DVD player? The Music Library can set you up with a playback station and headphones to use our AV recordings.
Streaming Audio Databases
It is often faster to search for AV materials directly in the streaming databases, rather than in Catalyst.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio of classical music, plus some world music and jazz. Includes brief discussions of the works and biographical information on composers and artists.
- Naxos Musical Library Jazz This link opens in a new windowA collection of streaming jazz recordings.
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio (plus liner notes and cover art) from independent record labels and sound archives. Emphasis on American music in many genres.
- Music Online This link opens in a new windowA cross search of all the streaming audio provided by Alexander Street Press, including classical, contemporary, jazz, world music, and more!
- Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new windowEthnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music and dance in its cultural context.