- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance 124: World Dance Traditions
- Journal articles, bibliographies, newspapers!
Dance 124: World Dance Traditions
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Dance & Performing Arts Databases
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowA go-to resource for performing arts scholarship.
- Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index This link opens in a new windowFocuses specifically on dance pedagogy.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. Covers materials published 1864-present.
Anthropology Databases
Culture anthropologists also write about dance! These can be useful sources for dance cultures around the world.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowA compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journal articles in anthropology, published by the American Anthropological Association. Covers materials published 1888-present.
You may also have luck looking the culturally-specific databases for Africa and the African Diaspora, Latin American Studies, and various foreign languages. Go to the A-Z Database page and set the "Subject" menu to the area you want to study to see recommended databases.
Music Databases
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on music. Covers materials published 1874-present.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowMagazine and journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, news items, obituaries, and other materials on classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Covers materials published 1970-present. Also available in print.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a bibliography of music articles, collections, and books, offers researchers and music scholars thousands of records in music research. Records are added and updated on a monthly basis.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, book reviews, and other materials in the arts and humanities. Users can search for articles that cite a particular article or author. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.