Theater 271: History of Theater since 1700
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Finding Scripts in Catalyst
The magic word for finding scripts in Catalyst is "drama."
1. Make sure you are in Advanced Search.
2. Set the first search field to whatever you want, and then set the second to GENRE CONTAINS DRAMA.
3. Set the Material Type dropdown to Books, so Catalyst knows you only want the script. Otherwise, it'll show you recordings of the plays, too.
Here's a search for scripts about China.
Finding Scripts in Databases
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowAsian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field.
- Black Drama, Second Edition: African, African American, and Diaspora 1850 to Present This link opens in a new windowBlack Drama, Second Edition contains over 1,400 full-text plays from the 1800s to the present day. Included are plays of Langston Hughes, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Zora Neale Hurston, James Weldon Johnson, Ira Aldridge, Shirley Graham, W.E.B. DuBois, and others.
- North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new windowNorth American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new windowNorth American Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 female playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Over 30% of the plays included here have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Play Index This link opens in a new windowPublication information for plays written across historical periods. Users can search by title, author, subject, or genre, with the option of limiting results by cast size.