Need a Boost?
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Primary sources in literary studies?
Primary sources are original material created during the time under study. Some primary sources you may need for literary research include an author's manuscripts, various editions of primary texts, correspondence or diaries by authors, or reviews from the time a work was published.
More Databases for Primary Sources
The following databases contain full text, subsequent editions, adaptations, and sometimes even manuscripts of original works.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowDigitized English-language books published between 1473 and 1700, including works of literature, religious texts, government documents, scholarly works, and much more.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources in literary studies. Primary materials include British and American poetry from the eighth century to the contemporary period, drama from 1280 to 1915, and prose from 1500 to 1914, plus streaming video of poets reading poetry and dramatized audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays. Secondary materials include major dictionaries and encyclopedias in literary studies, author bibliographies, and scholarly journal articles.
- Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700 This link opens in a new windowThe manuscripts on this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowA wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century. Contains over 59,489 letters and documents, cross-linked and referenced to each other.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowFull-text diaries and letters written by North American women, 1675-1950. Users can browse by year, historical event, location, or life experience in addition to searching. Also includes brief biographies of the authors.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new windowDigitized Black newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998. Searchable by date range, era in US history, place of publication, and article type as well as by keyword.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and 2000. Searchable by date range, era in US history, place of publication, and article type as well as by keyword.
- Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe Burney Newspapers comprise the most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers anywhere in the world, primarily from the 17th-18th century.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Selected Primary Source Collections
