Need a Boost?
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words -- past and present -- from across the English-speaking world.
Specialized English Dictionaries
Merriam-Webster's dictionary of allusionsCall Number: PN43 .W384 (Reference Room)Publication Date: 1999
The Facts on File dictionary of clichésCall Number: PE1689 .A48 (Reference Room)Publication Date: 2001
New Oxford Rhyming DictionaryPublication Date: 2012
Selected Online Reference Collections
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowThe Cambridge Companions are introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources in literary studies. Primary materials include British and American poetry from the eighth century to the contemporary period, drama from 1280 to 1915, and prose from 1500 to 1914, plus streaming video of poets reading poetry and dramatized audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays. Secondary materials include major dictionaries and encyclopedias in literary studies, author bibliographies, and scholarly journal articles.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.