- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Environmental Studies / Political Science 276: Environmental Politics
- Finding Scholarly Articles
Environmental Studies / Political Science 276: Environmental Politics
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Disciplinary Databases
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book reviews, and other materials in economics. Covers materials published 1969-present.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, pamphlets, reports (industry, government, and nonprofit), and other materials on environmental issues.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and books in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Comparing Popular and Scholarly Articles
| Articles in Popular Magazines and Newspapers | Articles in Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals |
| Written by journalists or magazine staff | Written by experts affiliated with a research institution (university, hospital, etc.) |
| Purpose is to inform, persuade, or entertain the general public | Purpose is to communicate research findings to other experts |
| Use language understood by the general public | Use precise, discipline-specific language |
| Do not include a formal bibliography, works cited, or references list | Always include a bibliography, works cited, and/or references list |
| Often include bright, colorful photos | Often display data in black-and-white charts/graphs |
| Evaluated for publication by a magazine editor | Have been evaluated and recommend for publication by other experts in the peer-review process |
| Popular magazines are often published weekly | Scholarly journals are often published monthly or quarterly |
Is this article popular or scholarly?
-
Scholarly and Popular Materials Guide (NC State)Guide to identifying scholarly and popular articles from North Carolina State University
-
Ulrichsweb.com This link opens in a new windowBibliographic and publisher information on periodicals including scholarly journals, trade magazines, popular magazines, and newspapers.