FYS 120N: Imagining Democracies Globally

LibKey Nomad

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, geographic, and statistical data by country (throughout the world); maps; introductory essays on a wide range of regional issues; and lists of sources for further research. Also available in print.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
BBC Monitoring Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text news coverage from over 150 countries, from state-owned, independent, and clandestine radio, television, press, internet, and news agency sources. Materials in languages other than English are translated. Covers materials published/broadcast 1996-present. Note: An optional, free personal account allows access to additional features (RSS feeds, site preferences, etc.).

A-Z List of Databases
Click "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1975-present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, government and international agency documents, statistical directories, and other materials in public policy and public affairs. Covers materials published 1915-present.

Differences Between Scholarly & Popular Materials
This guide from NC State University illustrates the differences between scholarly sources, popular sources, and trade publications.
Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Sources
This interactive slideshow highlights differences between scholarly and non-scholarly sources.