History 250: China, Past and Present

LibKey Nomad

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Do an Advanced Search in Catalyst to find books that contain primary sources (often called sourcebooks). Use the LC Subject term "Sources".

Other LC Subject terms to try: Correspondence; Personal Narratives; Interviews

memoir* or autobiograph* or diary or diaries or letters or correspondence or speech* or sermon* or papers

By author (if the name is known)

The name of a governmental body and appropriate topic words

Keyword search: Japan

Limit to: Published before 1900

Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China This link opens in a new window
Full-text classics of ancient China through the Qing Dynasty, including works in astronomy, geography, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and other areas.
Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from 1832-1953, primarily in English.
China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Covering the 18th and 19th centuries, China, America and the Pacific provides primary source materials for the study of the history of North American trade and cultural exchange with China. This collection also provides coverage of China’s economic dealings with the whole of East Asia and the Pacific.

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
Diverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures.
ARTstor's repository of hundreds of thousands of images, including art, architecture, design, is now part of JSTOR.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly art encyclopedia covering artist biographies, works, traditions, media, techniques, and concepts in art history and theory. Includes a searchable collection of images.

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.