- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- History 253: Modern Japan
- Find Primary Sources
History 253: Modern Japan
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Primary Sources in Catalyst
Do an Advanced Search in Catalyst to find books that contain primary sources (often called sourcebooks).
Use the LC Subject term "Sources".
For Example:
(Other LC Subject terms to try: Correspondence; Personal Narratives; Interviews)
Try searching with one of these keywords in Catalyst:
memoir
autobiography
diary
letters
correspondence
speech
sermon
papers
Use the date filter on the left side of Catalyst to find sources published during the time under study.
For Example:
Do a keyword search for Japan
Then limit by Publication Date:
Newspaper Databases
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new windowFull-text media reports from around the world, including news, interviews, speeches, editorial commentary and other materials. English-language, often in translation. Covers materials published 1941-1996.
- NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new windowContains articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world.
- Japan Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Japan Times publication was founded in 1897, with the intention to "give Japanese the opportunity to read news and current events in English and to help Japan to participate more fully in the international community." This digital archive includes every newspaper published between 1897 and 2014 (nearly 500,000 pages), with annual updates.
Streaming Video Databases
- Japanese Newsreels in Video This link opens in a new windowBroadcasts from Nippon News, Japan's only newsreel during World War II.
- Asian Film Online This link opens in a new windowAsian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.
- World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 This link opens in a new windowProvides full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.
Image Databases
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new windowDiverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly art encyclopedia covering artist biographies, works, traditions, media, techniques, and concepts in art history and theory. Includes a searchable collection of images.
Other Primary Source Databases
- National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowFeaturing the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, this database includes every page and every photograph.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of TIME Magazine from 1923-2000. A chronicle of 20th-century history, current events, business and politics.