Skip to Main Content

History 253: Modern Japan

LibKey Nomad

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies

Get Started

Start your research in reference sources (handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries, etc.) to be sure you have a good foundation in your topic. Most of these sources will include bibliographies of important secondary and primary sources, which can save you time!

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Kodansha Bilingual Encyclopedia of Japan
Call Number: (Rolvaag Reference) DS805 .K6323 1998
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: (Rolvaag Reference) DS4 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea
e-book

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Guides to sources organized by subject.

Selected Bibliographies:

Hiroshima/Nagasaki
by Travis J. Hardy
Islam in Japan
by Kieko Obuse
Japanese Cinema
by Scott Nygren
Sino-Japanese Relations Since 1945
by Caroline Rose and Ed Griffith

Browse by Subject:

Search Catalyst

Video: Search Catalyst for Reference Entries