History 396: Archaeological Research
Research Librarian
Start your research in reference sources (handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries, etc.) to be sure you have a good foundation in your topic. Most of these sources will include bibliographies of important secondary and primary sources, which can save you time!
Find Background Info
Start your research in reference sources (handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries, etc.) to be sure you have a good foundation in your topic. Most of these sources will include bibliographies of important secondary and primary sources, which can save you time!
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
The Oxford Handbook of ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2009The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology is designed to open up the world of archaeology to non-specialists and to provide an essential starting point for those who want to pursue particular topics in more depth.
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of the Contemporary WorldPublication Date: 2013This Handbook is the first comprehensive survey of an exciting and rapidly expanding sub-field and provides an authoritative overview of this newly emerging focus on the archaeology of the present and recent past.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2009The most wide-ranging, comprehensive, and up-to-date dictionary of archaeology available.
Encyclopedia of ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2008Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Find Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDiverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures.