- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Welcome New Faculty!
- Featured LITS Resources
Welcome New Faculty!
This guide is for new faculty at St. Olaf College. Members of the Library and Information Technology (LITS) Instruction Team are eager to meet you and begin collaborating on research and technology projects and assignments.
LibKey Nomad
Director of Research & Instructional Technology
Featured Library Resources
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowPremium access to The Chronicle of Higher Education, including news, analysis, and data for college and university faculty and staff.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowA vast library of video tutorials to help you develop skills in technology use, media production, time management, self-care, and much more. Access to LinkedIn Learning is now provided by the Northfield Public Library (NPL). You must have an NPL account to access LinkedIn Learning. Don't have an NPL account? All students as well as college employees who live in southeastern Minnesota can request an NPL account. For more information, please refer to Accessing LinkedIn Learning.
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). - Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.
DiSCO Resources
- The CaveThe Cave is equipped as a working space with technology, tools and supplies to help give shape to ideas, including 3D printing, textiles, electronics and modeling materials.
- Data Management GuideThis guide is a helpful introduction to data support services available at St. Olaf.
- Game Lab: Gaming, Streaming, and Content CreationThe Game Lab is a shared DiSCO and Library space where people can record audio, video, and create their own content to stream online.
- Equipment CheckoutExplore available media equipment. Check out equipment from the Circulation Desk located in Rolvaag Library.
- ArcGIS Software and Document HubResources for using ArcGIS Online, Pro, and GPS equipment available at St. Olaf.
- Story Maps Class Demo ExamplesCheck out some Story Maps that were created as demos for courses and research projects.
- Geographic Information Science GuideThis guide is a helpful introduction to GIS support available at St. Olaf.
Research Resources
- Databases and Digital CollectionsAn A-Z list of databases available to St. Olaf students, faculty, and staff.
- Research GuidesExplore curated guides for library and research resources.
- Make an AppointmentSchedule a 20-minute research consultation with a librarian.
Special Collections and Archives
- College ArchivesThe Shaw-Olson Center for College History — also known as the College Archives — is one of three collections housed on the second floor of the Rolvaag Memorial Library. Established in 1969, it is a repository of historical materials relating to the founding and growth of the institution.
- Rolvaag Library Special CollectionsThe Rolvaag Library Special Collections Department provides access to printed materials from the 15th century to the present.
- Teaching with Special Collections and Archives GuideAn overview of how to schedule a class in special collections or college archives, what type of sessions to expect, and a list of teaching resources.
- Using the Rolvaag Library Special CollectionsGuide to using special collections materials and collection descriptions.