Political Science 322: Economic Statecraft

This sample Google Spreadsheet illustrates one method of keeping track of your keyword searches. See the "Example Sheet" (linked at the bottom of the page) for an example of how you might write your notes. To make a copy of this file and use it for your own notetaking, click File > Make a Copy, then save your copy to your Google Drive.

V-dem is a group of social scientists that "provide[s] a multidimensional and disaggregated dataset that reflects the complexity of the concept of democracy as a system of rule that goes beyond the simple presence of elections. The V-Dem project distinguishes between five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, and collects data to measure these principles."

Students who are working on independent research projects, capstone projects, or semester-long class projects with data analysis questions are welcome to stop by. No appointment is necessary. Please note, however, that the CIR Fellows cannot provide tutoring assistance for regular coursework.

The most recent two years are unavailable, you'll have to place Resource Sharing Requests for those articles as necessary!

Click on "Institutional Access" to read the full articles. If you hit a paywall, feel free to place a Resource Sharing Request to obtain the article

US government compiled sources of foreign trade statistics.

U.S. federal international assistance agency database. Contains datasets related to economic growth.

The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Trade data- commodities and partner countries- annual reporting from over 170 countries back to 1962.

Foreign direct investment statistics (data, analysis, and forecasts) from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development

Economic research and time series from the Federal Reserve of Economic Data.

World Trade Organization's "quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its databases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added."

"The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators."

Data from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Includes data on international trade in goods and services, economic trends, foreign direct investments, commodities, and more.

From the U.S. Department of Commerce. Local, national, and international economic data.

Statistics from the World Bank spanning multiple indicators. Searchable and comparable by region or topic.

The World Bank's primary database for comparative development data.

The World Integrated Trade Solution "provides multiple ways to access trade, tariff and non-tariff data."