Political Science 322: Economic Statecraft

Research & Writing Tutors

Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

Tools to Track the Conversation

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.

What is Citation Searching?

Citation Searching typically starts when you have a source in hand. Maybe your professor gave you the source or you found it in a database or Catalyst. Now you have a great source for your research, and you have a (potential) gold mine in that source's bibliography. You should also find out who has cited that source in the months/years since it was published.

Google Scholar
A free site for searching across scholarly literature. "From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."

Search Google Scholar to find the full text of an article and also to see who else has cited that source:

Web of Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.

Search Web of Science to find the full text of an article (if available) and get quick access to the sources cited in the article:

Search Web of Science to find the full text of an article and see who else has cited that article: