Political Science 350: Immigration and Citizenship
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Welcome!
Welcome to the Library Research Guide for Political Science 350: Immigration and Citizenship! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in locating research and managing sources for your independent research project this semester.
Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!
Keep Track of Your Searches
- Keyword/Database TrackerThis sample Google Spreadsheet illustrates one method of keeping track of your keyword searches. See the "Example Sheet" (linked at the bottom of the page) for an example of how you might write your notes. To make a copy of this file and use it for your own notetaking, click File > Make a Copy, then save your copy to your Google Drive.
Browse Journals
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is the preferred service that researchers around the world use to browse, read and follow the scholarly journals available from their library.
Key Databases on Immigration
- A-Z List of DatabasesClick "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, government and international agency documents, statistical directories, and other materials in public policy and public affairs. Covers materials published 1915-present.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowPolicyFile indexes, abstracts, and links directly to current research on virtually every public policy issue, with international coverage from many organizations around the world, as well as in-depth coverage of U.S. domestic policy organizations.
- Politics Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full-text databases covering political science and public policy. Includes PAIS Index (1914 - current), Policy File Index (1990 - current), Political Science Database (1985 - current), and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current).
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, book reviews, books, and dissertations in sociology and related fields. Covers materials published 1952-present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and books in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Large Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowLiterature on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly and professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Indexes 8000+ publications, covering materials published 1975-present.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowLiterature on all topics, drawn from a wide range of scholarly, news, popular, and professional sources. Indexes over 5000 titles, covering materials published 1971-present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and retrospective literature in the sciences and social sciences. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching that allows you to track citations to and from the literature.
History Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.