- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Social Work 221: Social Work and Social Welfare
- Find Background Info
Social Work 221: Social Work and Social Welfare
LibKey Nomad
Research & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences & Data Literacy
Find a Social Reformer
Use these e-reference books to identify a social reformer that you would like to research:
The Encyclopedia of Social Work: Biographiese-book
(This link goes directly to the Biographies section. Scroll through the list or do a "find" (CTRL-F) to search for a particular keyword.)
Encyclopedia Collections
Use encyclopedias to find facts and background information about your reformer. You can also use these sources to find contextual information about the time period in which your reformer lived and worked.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
E-Books for Chronological Context
American ErasPublication Date: 1997Pre-1600 to 1900. "Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history." Choose a volume or use the "within publication" search box under "Tools" in the upper right-hand corner.
American Decades SeriesPublication Date: 2001Covers each decade from 1900 to 1999. Choose a volume or use the "within publication" search box under "Tools" in the upper right-hand corner.
