- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 345: Music in Paris in the 1920s
- Primary Sources: Databases
Music 345: Music in Paris in the 1920s
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Primary Resources in Databases
Many of the databases provided by the St. Olaf Libraries include primary resources.
Navigate to the A-Z database list and click the "Database Types" menu. Archives, images, and news databases are excellent places to look for primary sources for humanities research.
Image Databases
There is a close connection between music and the visual arts. Image databases include paintings, sculptures, cartoons and comics, architectural photographs, and the like.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDiverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures.
- French Newsreels in Video This link opens in a new windowFrench newsreels spanning the period of the Second World War.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly art encyclopedia covering artist biographies, works, traditions, media, techniques, and concepts in art history and theory. Includes a searchable collection of images.
Databases for letters, diaries, and other materials
The digital archive databases will often contain letters, diaries, news reports, and other materials. St. Olaf Libraries do not subscribe to any databases that specifically cover 1920s Paris. However, if your topic involves touches on the experiences of women, African Americans, or World War I, you may find relevant information here.
- First World War This link opens in a new windowIncludes three databases: Personal Experiences draws from diaries, photos, souvenirs, and other artifacts from the era. Propaganda and Recruitment includes sources from leaflets to training manuals. Visual Perspectives and Narratives includes official and personal photographs, manuscripts, rare printed material, artwork, objects and film.
- Umbra Search: African American History This link opens in a new windowUmbra Search makes African American History more broadly and freely accessible by bringing together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the country.
- Women, War & Society 1914-1918 This link opens in a new windowDigitized primary sources related to women's roles in and experiences of World War I, plus full-text interpretive essays. Includes pamphlets, photographs, charity and international relief reports, press cuttings, correspondence, and other materials.
Newspaper Databases
Newspaper reports can include interviews, concert reviews, and celebrity gossip. The English-language databases below may be useful for French projects. Be sure also to check out the Primary Sources: The Internet tab to the left for links to historical French newspapers.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new windowDigitized Black newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998; useful for topics dealing with African Americans' perceptions of Paris
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowUseful for topics dealing with African Americans' perceptions of Paris.
- British Newspapers This link opens in a new windowRegional British newspapers, 1714-1950. Does not include the London Times.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- Times Digital Archive: 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowThe Times of London archive includes every complete page of every issue--full-text searchable--every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.