History 370: American Revolution

Need a Boost?

LibKey Nomad

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: American Studies, Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, History, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

Find Recent Book Reviews

Catalyst is an excellent first place to look for book reviews. Search below using the author's name and key words from the title, then limit your results to the Content Type "Book Review" (on the left side of the page):

Search Catalyst

Reviews in American History

Although many scholarly journals contain reviews, Reviews in American History is the most comprehensive in this field.

Reviews in American History
"Reviews in American History is a journal of ideas that offers anyone interested in American history a way to stay current with the discipline. Each issue presents in-depth review essays about the latest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works written by leading historians are also regularly featured. The journal covers all areas of American history, including cutting-edge and more traditional sub-fields."

Other Databases to Try

Other databases include journals that may contain book reviews.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.