History 370: American Revolution

"Comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920."

This site, from the University of Houston, features digital images of high-level documents, some of which pertain to George III's reign.

"Common-place is a common place for exploring and exchanging ideas about early American history and culture. A bit less formal than a scholarly journal, a bit more scholarly than a popular magazine."

"This site includes transcriptions of the diary, correspondence, and papers of the richest and most important man of his day in Virginia."

"A bilingual digital library made available by the Library of Congress. It explores the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th century to the end of the 19th century."

Over 7,000 "images of colonial North and South America from books, manuscripts, and broadsides in the library’s collection"

"The Loyalist Collection holds contemporary documents pertaining to the experiences of Americans supportive of the British cause during the American Revolution. The focus is circa 1750 to 1850, and geographically the British Atlantic world: eastern parts of both present-day Canada and the United States, Great Britain, and the West Indies."

from the American Naval Records Society

"Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever. This collection unites copies of the lost files in a digital archive that reconstitutes this invaluable historical resource."

"Over 2,000 documents and images on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S."

"The exhibit is based on spy letters from the William L. Clements Library, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Gallery of Letters provides a brief description of each letter and links to more information about the stories of the spies in the letter or the secret methods used to make the letter."

"The Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia Libraries maintains a collection of more than 1,000 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century. Although not limited to a single geographic subject, the collection heavily emphasizes Georgia as colony and state, along with its surrounding region."