- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Business Research for Biomedical Innovation Scholars
- Investigating a Company
Business Research for Biomedical Innovation Scholars
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Company Information
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowBasic company information for over 20 million North American and 70 million global companies (directory information from Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet) as well as industry profiles. Also includes WhitePages data allowing for people and business search including reverse phone lookup. The Global Corporate Family Tree feature places companies into their full ownership context. Customized reports and lists can be downloaded to Excel, Word and PDF formats.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Annual Reports"AnnualReports.com is the most complete and up-to-date listing of annual reports on the internet."
View from the Inside/View from the Outside
Inside View: Annual Reports give you a view of a particular company from the company's point of view. They are typically glossy and are pitched towards people who own stock or are considering buying stock in the company. Therefore, you will only find annual reports for public companies. They portray the company in positive terms. You can find them linked to a company's profile in Mergent Intellect, linked from the company's web page (scroll to the bottom of the main web page and look for a link with the wording "Investors" or "Investor Relations") or by searching AnnualReports.com.
Outside View: For information about a company from an outside perspective, consult articles and reports that you find in Business Source Premier, The Wall Street Journal or The New York Times. You can now create your own account with The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. Check the links below:
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button).